Graduate Application Resources for Prospective Students

  • Graduate Application Assistance Programs (GAAP): The Graduate Application Assistance Program (GAAP) is a student-led initiative designed to help prospective applicants, particularly those from identities historically underrepresented in graduate education, navigate the MIT Admissions process. Please see the chart below for current GAAP programs.
  • Grad Catalyst: An MIT student-led workshop that helps undergraduates plan their academic trajectories. This interactive webinar provides participants with useful information for applying to and thriving in graduate school.
  • Comm Lab Kit: The MIT Communication Lab has quick guides to technical communication needs including posters, journal articles, and fellowship applications. CommKits are free for all to use, whether you’re at MIT or elsewhere.
  • Application Fee Waivers for Prospective Students: The Office of Graduate Education (OGE) is pleased to offer fee waivers for US citizens and US permanent residents who demonstrate financial hardship, are current or former members of the United States Armed Forces, or who have participated in special fellowship programs, including MIT-sponsored diversity programs (e.g., MIT Summer Research Program, CONVERGE). For eligibility and instructions please visit this webpage.
  • Grad Diversity Ambassadors: The Graduate Diversity Ambassadors are current MIT graduate students who partner with OGE GradDiversity to create a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive community at MIT. Prospective students are invited to reach out to the ambassador of their choice with any questions.

Graduate Application Assistance Program 

MIT is committed to fostering a diverse student body and research workforce. At the forefront of this commitment is cultivating a diverse and competitive applicant pool for our graduate programs at MIT.

The Graduate Application Assistance Program (GAAP) is a student-led initiative designed to help prospective applicants, particularly those from identities historically underrepresented in graduate education, navigate the MIT Admissions process. 

  • Connect with a student mentor to receive advice on the MIT application process and feedback on application materials 
  • Learn more about student life at MIT, areas of study and resources that support student development

Please note: MIT’s Graduate Application Assistance Programs are volunteer-based and student-run. GAAPs operate independently of program admission committees and are not considered a component of the admissions process.  

 

GAAP Programs Listserv Contact Contact Name & Email
BCS AAP (Brain and Cognitive Sciences Application Assistance Program) bcs-aap@mit.edu Michael Happ
mhapp@mit.edu
BEAAP (Biological Engineering Application Assistance Program) beaap@mit.edu Viraat Goel
viraat@mit.edu
CAMP (Chemistry Application Mentor Program)  

Jennifer Weisman
jweisman@mit.edu

Rachael Fuller rfuller@mit.edu

CHAMP (ChemE Application Mentorship Program) di-cheme@mit.edu quinnale@mit.edu and derym@mit.edu
DMSE DAAP (Department of Materials Science and Engineering) dmse-daap@mit.edu Elad Deiss-Yehiely
eladdy@mit.edu
Economics GAAP   Anna Russo
aerusso@mit.edu
EECS GAAP (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Graduate Assistance Application Program) eecsgaap@mit.edu Ella Wassweiler
ellawass@mit.edu
GAAP (Graduate Application Assistance Program) msrp@mit.edu Noelle Wakefield
noellew@mit.edu
IDSS GAAP (Institute for Data, Systems, and Society) idss-gaap@mit.edu  
MAAP (MEMP Application Assistance Program) maap@mit.edu Nalini Singh
nmsingh@mit.edu
Nuclear Science and Engineering   Rachel Bielajew
bielajew@mit.edu
PASS (Peer Application Support Service, DUSP) sccrecruit@gmail.com  
PhysGAAP (Physics) physgaap@mit.edu

Sydney Miller
sydney@mit.edu

Dominika Durovicikova
dominika@mit.edu

Postdoc Association  

Lauren Maiorino
lmaoirin@mit.edu

Kyle Diederichsen
kylemd@mit.edu