Committed to Caring

Nominate your caring prof!

The Office of Graduate Education invites you to share in an ongoing celebration of MIT faculty members who go above and beyond to make an impact in the lives of graduate students.

Do you know a faculty member who goes above and beyond to make an impact in the lives of graduate students? Maybe they should be recognized as a Committed to Caring professor! 

Nominations have closed for the 2023-2025 round.

The 2021-23 Committed to Caring honorees are:

  • Angelika Amon, Department of Biology (posthumously)
  • Athulya Aravind, Department of Linguistics
  • Mariana Arcaya, Department of Urban Studies and Planning
  • David Autor, Department of Economics
  • Michael Birnbaum, Department of Biological Engineering
  • Irmgard Bischofberger, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • devin michelle bunten, Department of Urban Studies and Planning
  • Esther Duflo, Department of Economics
  • Jeffrey Grossman, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Janelle Knox-Hayes, Department of Urban Studies and Planning
  • Karthish Manthiram, Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Miho Mazereeuw, Department of Architecture
  • Kerstin Perez, Department of Physics
  • Arvind Satyanarayan, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Ben Schneider, Department of Political Science

One or more honorees are celebrated each month of the academic year though a broad poster campaign, MIT News articles, and profiles on this site. Find all profiles posted to date in the menu at left.

Criteria for selection for a “Committed to Caring” honor include:

  1. Impact. Who has the nominee reached with their caring actions? How deeply, and for what length of time?
  2. Reach. What is the breadth of the nominee’s caring actions? Do they have a leadership role? Are there multiple nominations? Does the nominee demonstrate a commitment to influencing or changing systems that will improve graduate life?
  3. Excellence in scholarship. In addition to the nominee’s own academic excellence, how have they contributed to student academic and professional success?
  4. Equity and inclusivity. What contributions has the nominee made toward supporting all members of the community?
  5. Professional development as an advisor. Does the nominee seek feedback or make time to conduct self-study or professional development around various aspects of mentoring and advising? This may include management, communication skills, and/or support of students with varied needs and backgrounds.