MIT community members honored with 2024 Franklin Institute Awards

February 9, 2024

The Franklin Institute recently announced its 2024 cohort of award winners, as part of its bicentennial celebration. Since its inception, the Franklin Institute Awards Program has honored the most influential scientists, engineers, and inventors who have significantly advanced science and technology. It is one of the oldest comprehensive science awards in the world. The 2024 […]

Letter to the MIT community: Announcing the Climate Project at MIT

February 8, 2024

The following letter was sent to the MIT community today by President Sally Kornbluth. Dear members of the MIT community, At my inauguration, echoing a sentiment I heard everywhere on my campus listening tour, I called on the people of MIT to come together in new ways to marshal a bold, tenacious response to the […]

Illustrating India’s complex environmental crises

February 7, 2024

Abhijit Banerjee, the Ford Foundation International Professor of Economics at MIT, and Sarnath Banerjee (no relation), an MIT Center for Art, Science, and Technology (CAST) visiting artist share a similar background, but have very different ways of thinking. Both were raised for a time in Kolkata before leaving India to pursue divergent careers, Abhijit as […]

A chronicler of the biotech boom

February 2, 2024

For decades now, MIT’s Kendall Square neighborhood has been dotted by cranes, scaffolding, and construction sites — the unofficial symbols of the biotechnology boom that has made East Cambridge an industry capital. True, there are other kinds of tech firms in Kendall Square, from Silicon Valley giants to startups. But the Kendall area is one […]

DiOnetta Jones Crayton: Change-maker at MIT

February 1, 2024

Associate Dean and Office of Minority Education (OME) Director DiOnetta Jones Crayton has announced that she will step down from her role on Feb. 2. She has led the office for 14 years, advancing OME’s efforts to provide a robust portfolio of programs, services, and resources for undergraduate students of color. “It has been my […]

Noubar Afeyan PhD ’87 to deliver MIT’s 2024 Commencement address

February 1, 2024

Noubar Afeyan PhD ’87, an inventor and parallel entrepreneur with a penchant for bold ideas, will deliver the address at the OneMIT Commencement Ceremony on Thursday, May 30. Afeyan is the founder and CEO of the venture creation company Flagship Pioneering, which founds companies that build biotechnology platforms to transform human health and sustainability. Since […]

3 Questions: What can graduate students expect from MIT’s newest grad housing option?

January 31, 2024

In October 2017, MIT made a commitment to add 950 on-campus beds for graduate students as part of the Volpe zoning agreement with the City of Cambridge that allows the Institute to develop a 10-acre parcel in Kendall Square. Since then, MIT opened the Graduate Tower at Site 4 residential community in Kendall Square with […]

Nancy Hopkins awarded the National Academy of Sciences Public Welfare Medal

January 30, 2024

The National Academy of Sciences has awarded MIT biologist Nancy Hopkins, the Amgen Professor of Biology Emerita, with the 2024 Public Welfare Medal in recognition of “her courageous leadership over three decades to create and ensure equal opportunity for women in science.”  The award recognizes Hopkins’s role in catalyzing and leading MIT’s “A Study on […]

AgeLab’s Bryan Reimer named to US Department of Transportation innovation committee

January 29, 2024

Bryan Reimer, research scientist at the MIT Center for Transportation and Logistics’ (MIT CTL) AgeLab, has been appointed by the U.S. Department of Transportation (DoT) to the Transforming Transportation Advisory Committee (TTAC). The committee advises the DoT and the secretary of transportation about plans and approaches for transportation innovation. Reimer, who has been at MIT […]

Middle-school students meet a beam of electrons, and excitement results

January 29, 2024

Want to get middle-school kids excited about science? Let them do their own experiments on MIT.nano’s state-of-the-art microscopes — with guidelines and adult supervision, of course. That was the brainchild of Carl Thrasher and Tao Cai, MIT graduate students who spearheaded the Electron Microscopy Elevating Representation and Growth in Education (EMERGE) program. Held in November, EMERGE […]