Graduate administrators

In departments and degree-granting programs, the graduate administrator serves as the key representative responsible for a broad array of services and resources for graduate students. Responsibilities generally include the following areas:

  • Admissions and orientation
  • Registration
  • Grade reporting
  • Advising and counseling
  • Class schedules
  • Financial appointments
  • Policy implementation
  • Corporate recruiting
  • Thesis processing
  • Degree lists and graduation

Please do not hesitate to contact individuals at the addresses provided, or either of the facilitators of the Graduate Administrators Roundtable, a group that works closely with the Office of Graduate Education.

This material was last updated in August 2018. For future updates, please contact the office at odge@mit.edu.

Department Name Role Email Room Phone
1 – Civil and Environmental Engineering Kiley Clapper   kclapper@mit.edu 1-290 253-7119
2 – Mechanical Engineering Leslie Regan   megradoffice@mit.edu 1-112 253-2291
2N – Naval Program Weston Gray   wesgray@mit.edu 5-317 253-4339
  Joe Harbour   jharbour@mit.edu 5-317 253-4341
3 – Materials Science & Engineering Angelita Mireles   angelita@mit.edu 6-107 253-3302
4 – Architecture Cynthia Stewart Admissions & Masters stewart@mit.edu 7-337 253-4408
  Renee Caso PhD yammie@mit.edu 7-337 253-7792
5 – Chemistry Jennifer Weisman    jweisman@mit.edu 6-205 253-1845
6 – Electrical Engineering & Computer Science Kathleen McCoy Admissions & financial aid  mccoy_k@mit.edu 38-444 253-4605
  Janet Fischer PhD/SM registration & theses jfischer@mit.edu 38-444 253-4648
  Vera Sayzew MEng  vera@mit.edu

38-476

452-3183

  Brandi Adams MEng bkadams@mit.edu

38-476

253-7329

7 – Biology Janice Chang   jdchang@mit.edu 68-120 253-7344
8 – Physics Catherine Modica   cmodica@mit.edu 4-315 253-4842
9 – Brain and Cognitive Sciences Sierra Vallin   svallin@mit.edu 46-2005N 253-5741
10 – Chemical Engineering Melanie Charette   melaniec@mit.edu 66-366 253-4577
11 – Urban Studies and Planning Sandy Wellford PhD wellford@mit.edu 9-419 253-4409
  Ellen Rushman MCP erushman@mit.edu 9-413 253-9403
12 – Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences Megan Jordan   mkjordan@mit.edu 54-910 253-3380
14 – Economics Julia Martyn-Shah Admissions and financial aid jmshah@mit.edu E52-306 253-8787
  Gary King Registration & theses gking@mit.edu E52-304 253-0951
15 – Management Dan Gormley Masters dgormley@mit.edu E52-138 324-7579
  Hillary Ross PhD hross@mit.edu E52-146 253-8957
  Joshua DeMaio Student funding jkdemaio@mit.edu E52-134 324-7280
16 – Aeronautics and Astronautics Beth Marois Roundtable Facilitator bethamar@mit.edu 33-202A 253-0043
17 – Political Science Susan Twarog   twarog@mit.edu E53-467 253-8336
18 – Mathematics Barbara Peskin    bpeskin@mit.edu 2-110B 253-2416
20 – Biological Engineering Dalia Fares   dalia@mit.edu 16-267 253-5804
21W – Program in Science Writing Shannon Larkin   slarkin@mit.edu 14N-338 252-5036
22 – Nuclear Science & Engineering Brandy Baker   brandyb@mit.edu 24-102 3-3814
24 – Linguistics and Philosophy Jen Purdy   purdy@mit.edu 32-D812 253-9372
ACT – Art, Culture, & Technology Marion Cunningham   marionoc@mit.edu E15-209 324-6076
Advanced Study Program Tish Miller   tschill@mit.edu E48-401 258-5624
CDO – Computation for Design & Optimization Kate Nelson   kpnelson@mit.edu 35-434B 253-3725
CMS – Comparative Media Studies Shannon Larkin   slarkin@mit.edu 14N-338 452-5036
CRE – Center for Real Estate Patricia Nesti Roundtable Facilitator tnesti@mit.edu 9-343 253-8308
CSB – Computational & Systems Biology Jacqueline Carota   jcarota@mit.edu  68-230A 324-4144
CSE – Computational Science and Engineering Kate Nelson   kpnelson@mit.edu 35-329B 253-3725
HST – Health Sciences and Technology  Laurie Ward Financial aid appts
& PhD admissions
 laurie@mit.edu  E25-518  253-3609
  Traci Anderson Registration & theses tanderso@mit.edu  E25-518  253-7470
IDSS – Institute for Data Systems & Society Elizabeth Milnes   emilnes@mit.edu E17-375 253-1182
  Barbara DeLaBarre TPP barbarad@mit.edu E17-377 452-3187
 LGO Patty Eames LGO Fellows program peames@mit.edu E40-315 253-1063
MAS – Media Arts & Sciences Linda Peterson   lindap@mit.edu E15-422 253-5114
MICRO – Interdepartmental Microbiology Jacqueline Carota   jcarota@mit.edu 68-230A 324-4144
ORC – Operations Research Center Laura Rose   lrose@mit.edu E40-107 253-9303
SCM – Supply Chain Management Justin Snow SCM residential jmsnow@mit.edu E40-383 324-6564
  Robert Cummings SCM
blended
robertrc@mit.edu E40-383 258-6050
SDM / IDM Bill Foley SDM wfoley@mit.edu  E40-333 258-0291
  Melissa Parrillo IDM parrillo@mit.edu E40-327 253-6338
STS – Science, Technology, and Society Karen Gardner   kgardner@mit.edu E51-163 253-9759
Joint Program with the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Kris Kipp   kipp@mit.edu 54-820 253-7544