Graduate Officers

The graduate officer is the faculty member or senior academic staff member who oversees graduate affairs on behalf of a department or degree-granting program. Graduate officers advocate for graduate students, provide guidance, manage conflicts, enforce departmental policies, develop strategic programming and curricula, and approve final degree lists. Most importantly, graduate officers work to ensure that a graduate program works in the best interest of its students. 

The full scope of the role is determined by the practice and culture of the department or program. Additional responsibilities may include recruitment and admissions, student orientation, and advising student groups. Various Institute offices collaborate with the graduate officers as a group to catalyze positive change for MIT’s graduate student community.

DEPARTMENTNAMEEMAILROOMPHONE
1 – Civil and Environmental EngineeringColette Healdheald@mit.edu48-335324-5666
2 – Mechanical EngineeringNicolas Hadjiconstantinoungh@mit.edu3-364452-2280
3 – Materials Science and EngineeringRob Macfarlanermacfarl@mit.edu13-5046715-2828
4 – ArchitectureLeslie Norfordlnorford@mit.edu5-418D253-8797
5 – ChemistryAdam Willardawillard@mit.edu6-231253-1480
6 – Electrical Engineering and Computer ScienceKatrina LaCurts (MEng)lacurts@mit.edu38-587253-5994
Leslie Kolodziejski (SM & PhD)leskolo@mit.edu38-450253-7327
 7 – BiologyMary Gehringmgehring@wi.mit.eduWI-401B324-0343
 
8 – PhysicsLindley Winslow

Will Detmold
lwinslow@mit.edu

wdetmold@mit.edu
26-569

6-303
253-2332

324-6181
9 – Brain and Cognitive SciencesMark Harnettharnett@mit.edu46-4019324-6988
10 – Chemical EngineeringPatrick Doylepdoyle@mit.eduE17-504253-4594
11 – Urban Studies and PlanningCeasar McDowellceasar@mit.edu9-422253-7587
12 – Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary SciencesTaylor Perronperron@mit.edu54-1022253-5735
14 – EconomicsAbhijit Banerjeebanerjee@mit.eduE52-540253-8855
15 – Sloan School of ManagementJacob Cohen (Masters Programs)jcohen28@mit.eduE60-366324-8107
15 – Sloan School of Management PhDEric Soeso@mit.eduE62-677253-6470
16 – Aeronautics and AstronauticsJonathan Howjhow@mit.edu31-317253-3267
17 – Political ScienceFotini Christiacfotini@mit.eduE53-417324-5595
18 – MathematicsDavesh Maulik
(Pure Math)
maulik@mit.edu2-346253-1796
 Jonathan Kelnerkelner@mit.edu2-344253-4344
 Wei Zhang (Pure Math)weizhang@mit.edu2-476253-1918
20 – Biological EngineeringAlan Jasanoffjasanoff@mit.edu16-267452-2538
21W – Science WritingSeth Mnookinsmnookin@mit.edu14N-420324-1868
22 – Nuclear Science and EngineeringJu Liliju@mit.edu 24-202 253-0166
24 – Linguistics and PhilosophyBrad Skow  (Philosophy)bskow@mit.edu32-D930253-4147
 Sabine Iatridou (Linguistics)iatridou@mit.edu32-D824253-2640
ACT – Art, Culture, & TechnologyLeslie Norfordlnorford@mit.eduE15-211253-8797
CMS – Comparative Media StudiesHeather Hendershothshot@mit.edu14E-435253-3599
CRE – Center for Real EstateKairos Shenkaiross@mit.edu9-343253-4373
 
CSB – Computational and Systems BiologyChris Burgecburge@mit.edu68-271A258-5997
CSE – Computational Science and Engineering (SM & PhD)Nicolas Hadjiconstantinoungh@mit.edu3-364452-2280
 Youseff Marzoukymarz@mit.edu37-451253-1337
HST – Health Sciences and TechnologyJulie Greenbergjgreenbe@mit.eduE25-518258-6086
IDSS – Institute for Data, Systems & SocietyFotini Christia (SES)cfotini@mit.eduE53-417324-5595
 Frank Field (TPP)furd@mit.eduE17-379253-2146
 Noelle Selinselin@mit.eduE17-381324-2592
    
LGOThomas Roemertroemer@mit.eduE40-319324-6209
MAS – Media Arts and SciencesJoseph Paradisojoep@media.mit.eduE14-548P253-8988
MICRO – Interdepartmental MicrobiologyJacquin Nilesjcniles@mit.edu56-341B324-5698
Otto Corderoottox@mit.edu48-429230-4153
ORC – Operations Research CenterPatrick Jailletjaillet@mit.eduE62-579452-3379
SCM – Supply Chain ManagementMaria Jesus Saenzmjsaenz@mit.eduE40-379258-8235
SDM – Systems Design & ManagementWarren Seeringseering@mit.edu3-433253-8253
 
STS – History, Anthropology and Science, Technology and SocietyEden Medinaeden@mit.eduE53-335P253-1943
Joint Program with the Woods Hole Oceanographic InstitutionMick Followsmick@mit.eduAcademic Programs Office, Woods Hole MA253-5939