Graduate Administrators (Grad Admins)

In departments and degree-granting programs, the graduate administrator (or “grad admin”) serves as the key representative responsible for a broad array of services and resources for graduate students. Responsibilities generally include the following areas:

  • Admissions and orientation
  • Registration
  • Grade reporting
  • Advising and counseling
  • Class schedules
  • Financial appointments
  • Policy implementation
  • Corporate recruiting
  • Thesis processing
  • Degree lists and graduation

Please do not hesitate to contact individuals at the addresses provided, or either of the facilitators of the Graduate Administrators Roundtable, a group that works closely with the Office of Graduate Education.

This material was last updated in March 2022. For future updates, please contact the office at grad-ed@mit.edu.

DEPARTMENTNAMEROLEEMAILROOMPHONE
1 – Civil and Environmental Engineering, and  Interdepartmental Program in TransportationSarah Smith cee-apo@mit.edu1-290253-9723
2 – Mechanical EngineeringSaana McDaniel saana@mit.edu35-237324-4336
2N – Naval ProgramJeremy Leghorn leghorn@mit.edu5-317253-4341
 Douglas Jonart jonart@mit.edu5-317831-402-1624
3 – Materials Science & EngineeringAngelita Mireles dmse-gradoffice@mit.edu6-107253-3302
4 – ArchitectureKateri BertinMaster’s programskbertin@mit.edu
 Tessa HaynesPhD; Roundtable Facilitatorthaynes@mit.edu7-337H253-7792
5 – ChemistryJennifer Weisman  jweisman@mit.edu6-205253-1845
 6 – Electrical Engineering & Computer ScienceJanet FischerPhD/SM jfischer@mit.edu38-444253-4648
 Vera SayzewMEng vera@mit.edu38-476452-3183
7 – BiologyJanice Chang jdchang@mit.edu68-120253-7344
8 – PhysicsCatherine Modica cmodica@mit.edu4-315253-4842
9 – Brain and Cognitive SciencesSierra Vallin svallin@mit.edu46-2005N253-5741
10 – Chemical EngineeringMelanie Charette melaniec@mit.edu66-366253-4577
11 – Urban Studies and PlanningSandy WellfordPhDwellford@mit.edu9-419253-4409
 Sandra ElliottMCPsandrame@mit.edu9-413253-1933
12 – Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary SciencesAnn Greaney-Williams agreaney@mit.edu54-910253-3380
14 – EconomicsJulia Martyn-ShahAdmissions and financial aidjmshah@mit.eduE52-306253-8787
15 – ManagementDan GormleyEducational Servicesdgormley@mit.eduE52-138324-7579
 Hillary RossPhDhross@mit.eduE52-146253-8957
 Joshua DeMaioStudent fundingjkdemaio@mit.eduE52-134324-7280
16 – Aeronautics and AstronauticsFaith Crisleyfaithc@mit.edu33-207258-7537
17 – Political ScienceSusan Twarog twarog@mit.eduE53-467253-8336
18 – MathematicsTheresa Cummings  tcumming@mit.edu2-110253-4977
20 – Biological EngineeringDalia Fares dalia@mit.edu16-267253-5804
21W – Program in Science WritingShannon Larkin slarkin@mit.edu14N-338252-5036
22 – Nuclear Science & EngineeringBrandy Baker brandyb@mit.edu24-1023-3814
24 – Linguistics and PhilosophyJen Purdy purdy@mit.edu32-D812253-9372
ACT – Art, Culture, & TechnologyKateri Bertin kbertin@mit.edu7-333253-7792
Advanced Study ProgramBianca Sinausky singleta@mit.eduNE48-200258-5624
CMS – Comparative Media StudiesShannon Larkinslarkin@mit.edu14N-338452-5036
CRE – Center for Real EstateMary Hughes mchughes@mit.edu9-343253-8308
CSB – Computational & Systems BiologyJacqueline Carota jcarota@mit.edu68-230A324-4144
CSE – Computational Science and EngineeringKate Nelson kpnelson@mit.edu35-329B253-3725
DEDP – Data, Economics, and Development PolicyEvan Williams ewilliams@povertyactionlab.orgE19324-4498
HST – Health Sciences and TechnologyLaurie WardFinancial aid appts
& PhD admissions
 laurie@mit.eduE25-518 253-3609
Traci AndersonAcademics – Registration, Degree Audits, Thesistanderso@mit.edu253-7470
IDSS – Institute for Data Systems & SocietyElizabeth Milnes (PhD)emilnes@mit.eduE17-375253-1182
Technology & Policy ProgramBarbara DeLaBarre barbarad@mit.eduE17-377452-3187
LGO – Leaders for Global OperationsPatty Eames peames@mit.eduE40-315253-1063
MAS – Media Arts & SciencesSarra Shubart sarra@media.mit.eduE15-422253-9806
MICRO – Interdepartmental MicrobiologyJacqueline Carota jcarota@mit.edu68-230A324-4144
ORC – Operations Research CenterLaura Rose lrose@mit.eduE40-107253-9303
SCM – Supply Chain ManagementRobert CummingsRoundtable Facilitatorrobertrc@mit.eduE40-383258-6050
SDM / IDMBill FoleySDMwfoley@mit.eduE40-333258-0291
 Melat HundeIDMmhunde@mit.eduE40-339253-7612
STS – Science, Technology, and SocietyKaren Gardner kgardner@mit.eduE51-163253-9759
Joint Program with the Woods Hole Oceanographic InstitutionPatricia Nesti tnesti@mit.edu54-820253-7544