Graduate Officers

The graduate officer is the faculty member or senior academic staff member who oversees graduate affairs on behalf of a department or degree-granting program. Graduate officers advocate for graduate students, provide guidance, manage conflicts, enforce departmental policies, develop strategic programming and curricula, and approve final degree lists. Most importantly, graduate officers work to ensure that a graduate program works in the best interest of its students. 

The full scope of the role is determined by the practice and culture of the department or program. Additional responsibilities may include recruitment and admissions, student orientation, and advising student groups. Various Institute offices collaborate with the graduate officers as a group to catalyze positive change for MIT’s graduate student community.

Graduate Officers monthly meetings, 2020-21

(Times TBD)


DepartmentNameEmailRoomPhone
1 – Civil and Environmental EngineeringColette Healdheald@mit.edu48-335324-5666
2 – Mechanical EngineeringNicolas Hadjiconstantinoungh@mit.edu3-364452-2280
3 – Materials Science and EngineeringFrances Rossfmross@mit.edu13-5046452-2535
4 – ArchitectureLeslie Norfordlnorford@mit.edu5-418D253-8797
5 – ChemistryAdam Willardawillard@mit.edu6-231253-1480
6 – Electrical Engineering and Computer ScienceKatrina LaCurts (MEng)lacurts@mit.edu38-587253-5994
Leslie Kolodziejski (SM & PhD)leskolo@mit.edu38-450253-7327
 7 – BiologyIain Cheesemanicheese@wi.mit.eduWI-401B324-2503
 Amy Keatingkeating@mit.edu68-622452-3398
8 – PhysicsDeepto Chakrabartydeepto@mit.edu37-602B253-3840
9 – Brain and Cognitive SciencesRebecca Saxesaxe@mit.edu46-4019324-2885
10 – Chemical EngineeringPatrick Doylepdoyle@mit.eduE17-504253-4594
11 – Urban Studies and PlanningCeasar McDowellceasar@mit.edu9-422253-7587
12 – Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary SciencesPaul O’Gormanpog@mit.edu54-1712252-3382
14 – EconomicsAmy Finkelsteinafink@mit.eduE52-442253-4149
15 – Sloan School of ManagementJacob Cohen (Masters Programs)jcohen28@mit.eduE60-366324-8107
15 – Sloan School of Management PhDCatherine Tuckercetucker@mit.eduE62-536252-1499
16 – Aeronautics and AstronauticsZoltán Spakovszky
zolti@mit.edu31-317253-2196
17 – Political ScienceFotini Christia
cfotinimit.eduE53-417324-5595
18 – MathematicsDavesh Maulik
(Pure Math)
maulik@mit.edu2-346253-1796
 Jonathan Kelnerkelner@mit.edu2-344253-4344
 Wei Zhang (Pure Math)weizhang@mit.edu2-476253-1918
20 – Biological EngineeringKatharina Ribbeckribbeck@mit.edu56-235715-4575
Paul Blaineypblainey@mit.eduNE30-2015714-7320
21W – Science WritingSeth Mnookinsmnookin@mit.edu14N-420324-1868
22 – Nuclear Science and EngineeringJu Li liju@mit.edu 24-202 253-0166
24 – Linguistics and PhilosophyBrad Skow  (Philosophy)bskow@mit.edu32-D930253-4147
 Sabine Iatridou (Linguistics)iatridou@mit.edu32-D824253-2640
ACT – Art, Culture, & TechnologyJudith Barryactdir@mit.eduE15-211324-6471
CDO – Computation for Design and OptimizationNicolas Hadjiconstantinoungh@mit.edu3-364452-2280
 Youssef Marzoukymarz@mit.edu37-451253-1337
CMS – Comparative Media StudiesVivek Baldvbald@mit.edu14N-435452-5086
CRE – Center for Real EstateKairos Shenkaiross@mit.edu9-343 253-4373
 
CSB – Computational and Systems BiologyChris Burgecburge@mit.edu68-271A258-5997
CSE – Computational Science and EngineeringNicolas Hadjiconstantinoungh@mit.edu3-364452-2280
 Youseff Marzoukymarz@mit.edu37-451253-1337
HST – Health Sciences and TechnologyJulie Greenbergjgreenbe@mit.eduE25-518258-6086
IDSS – Institute for Data, Systems & Society Stephen Gravessgraves@mit.eduE62-579253-6602
 Ali Jadbabaie (SES)jadbabai@mit.eduE18-309253-7339
 Frank Fieldfurd@mit.eduE17-379253-2146
 Noelle Selinselin@mit.eduE17-381324-2592
    
LGOThomas Roemertroemer@mit.eduE40-319324-6209
MAS – Media Arts and SciencesJoseph Paradisojoep@media.mit.eduE14-548P253-8988
MICRO – Interdepartmental MicrobiologyJacquin Nilesjcniles@mit.edu56-341B324-5698
MICRO – Interdepartmental MicrobiologyJeff Goregore@mit.eduNE46-609715-4251
ORC – Operations Research CenterStephen Graves
sgraves@mit.eduE62-579253-6602
SCM – Supply Chain ManagementMaria Jesus Saenz (Blended)mjsaenz@mit.eduE40-367253-8235
 Josue Velazquez (Residential)josuevm@mit.eduE40-365253-3630
SDM – Systems Design & ManagementWarren Seering (SDM Track)seering@mit.edu32-D624452-3379
 Steven Eppinger (IDM track)eppinger@mit.edu3-433253-8253
STS – History, Anthropology and Science, Technology and SocietyGraham Jonesgmj@mit.eduE53-335P715-4969
 Joint Program with the Woods Hole Oceanographic InstitutionDelia Oppodoppo@whoi.eduAcademic Programs Office, Woods Hole MA508-289-2681