2014-2015 MLK Visiting Professors and Scholars announced

June 23, 2014

The new MLK Visiting Professors and Scholars who will join the MIT community for the 2014-2015 academic year have been announced. This program was established to recognize outstanding scholarship and honor the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. by increasing the presence of minority professors and scholars at MIT.
The Office of Institute Community and Equity is honored to sponsor the visits of the following distinguished scholars, whose bios are compiled online:
  • Dr. Coco Fusco, Visiting Associate Professor of Comparative Media Studies/Writing, hosted by Professors Edward Schiappa and Junot Diaz, arriving July 2014
  • Dr. Malika Jeffries-EL, Visiting Associate Professor of Chemistry, hosted by Professor Timothy Swager, arriving January 2015
  • Dr. Calestous Juma, Visiting Professor of Urban Studies and Planning, hosted by Professors Bishwapriya Sanyal, Phillip Clay and Lawrence Susskind, arriving September 2014
  • Dr. James Mickens, Visiting Scholar in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, hosted by Professor Frans Kaashoek, arriving September 2014
  • Dr. Hakeem Oluseyi, Visiting Professor of Physics, hosted by Professor Sara Seager, arriving January 2015
  • Dr. Andre Taylor, Visiting Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, hosted by Professor Yang Shao-Horn, arrived June 2014
  • Dr. Kimani Toussaint, Visiting Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, hosted by Professor Peter So, arrived May 2014
The selection of these scholars was made with the advice of a newly constituted MLK Faculty Advisory Committee, whose members are:
  • Prof. Nittai Bergman of the Sloan School of Management  
  • Prof. Kenneth R. Manning of Comparative Media Studies/Writing
  • Prof. Muriel Medard of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Prof. Hazel Sive of the Department of Biology and Whitehead Institute
  • Prof. J. Phillip Thompson of the Department of Urban Studies and Planning
We are fortunate to host scholars of such distinction at MIT thanks to the generosity of the Office of the Provost, whose support is greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *